More Movies, Shows and Time Devourers (pt1)

edgeoftomorrowWell for the fun of it this morning I thought I’d update my latest “Time Devourers” as I’ve begun calling them. More movies, TV shows and games! Anyone who knows me knows I play waaaaay too many video games for a 35-year old father of one. But I’ve come to terms with my maturity peaking at about 15 and holding steady. You should be too 🙂

When last we spoke I was in the middle of Drive Angry with Nicholas Cage. I wish I hadn’t been. Ouch. Cage either doesn’t have it anymore or his agent sucks. For me, this movie landed somewhere between Ghost Rider 1 & 2 for quality. It wasn’t the worst but it definitely wasn’t the best. That said, we all remember fondly Cage’s 90’s films (I think it was the nineties, please don’t make me google it, just comment to correct me). The Rock, Con-Air and Face Off  come to mind as some of the highlights of his career. Thank god that Superman movie he was supposed to be in never happened. Dodged a bullet there didn’t we?

After that debacle I watched Tom Cruise’s Edge of Tomorrow. Wow. Just wow. I can’t say enough good things. Without spoiling anything it’s a sci-fi Groundhog Day. Tom Cruise raises the bar for sci-fis. The same way i find Will Smith does. This is a must-watch.

Now I was on a Tom Cruise kick with many many good movies versus those that weren’t. Jack Reacher was underwhelming, not bad. Just not as good as the Edge of Tomorrow.

Next up was Taken 2. Liam Neesom is the man and if you’ve seen Taken you know why. This film is good but ‘incidental’. It’s a simple revenge film spilling over from the first. But Neesom is the bomb. I hear they’ve greenlighted a third film titled “Tak3n”. (i hate nerdy internet writing, it’s a fad that needs to go away and be kept for the MMO gamers)

Finally (I know, I have a lot of time on my hands don’t I?) was World War Z. Brad Pitt rarely disappoints and this film was no different. It’s a zombie flick focused on a way for humanity to survive. Very good movie but don’t go out of your way to watch it. It’s no George Romero’s Dawn of the Dead.

(to be continued)

Leave a Reply

